ZACH GOODRICH

Executive Director and Legal Counsel



BOARD MEMBERS:

James Albert, Chair Elaine Olson, Vice Chair Jonathan Roos Daniel Jessop Leah Rodenberg

IOWA ETHICS AND CAMPAIGN DISCLOSURE BOARD

An Independent Agency of the Executive Branch

AGENDA

October 31, 2024, 2:30 p.m.
Ola Babcock Miller Building, Room 300
1112 East Grand Ave, Des Moines, Iowa 50319

- I. CALL TO ORDER
- II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES
 - 1. May 23, 2024, minutes
- III. DIRECTOR'S UPDATE
- IV. FORMAL COMPLAINTS

Recommended to Dismiss

- 1. FC 2023-13 (Diana Danielson / Tim Lane)
- 2. FC 2024-04 (Laura Dunlap / Jennifer Miralles)
- 3. FC 2024-18 (Zach Frantz / Shannon Wilson)
- 4. FC 2024-19 (Rachel Doyle / Jim Pentico)
- 5. FC 2024-20 (Donna Barry / Gorman for Senate)
- 6. FC 2024-22 (Heaven Chamberlain / Educational Opportunities PAC)
- 7. FC 2024-21 (Chad Brewbaker / Kim Reynolds)
- 8. FC 2024-23 (Harry Pettit / Fitch for Supervisor)
- 9. FC 2024-25 (Ben Lynch / Joe Gatto)
- 10. FC 2024-26 (Ann Fields / Gearhart for Iowa)

Recommended to Accept and Investigate

- 1. FC 2024-05 (Keith Wieland / Rick Wulfekuhle)
- 2. FC 2024-06 (sua sponte / Committee to Elect Justyn Lewis)
- 3. FC 2024-07 (sua sponte / ToyA Johnson 4 Iowa)
- 4. FC 2024-08 (sua sponte / Tim Roper PAC)
- 5. FC 2024-09 (sua sponte / Cindy Dorhout, et al.)
- 6. FC 2024-10 (sua sponte / Asian and Latino Coalition)
- 7. FC 2024-11 (sua sponte / Scott Pack)
- 8. FC 2024-12 (sua sponte / David Swindlehurst for Governor)
- 9. FC 2024-13 (sua sponte / Iowans for a Renewable Future)
- 10. FC 2024-14 (sua sponte / Ossian Election Team)
- 11. FC 2024-15 (sua sponte / Sac and Fox Tribe of the Mississippi)
- 12. FC 2024-16 (Lisa Riedel / Jim Anderson)
- 13. FC 2024-17 (Herbert Riedel / Wendy Knight)

14. FC 2024-24 (Margaret Klein / Vote YES for Waterloo Schools)

V. PETITIONS FOR WAIVER OF CIVIL PENALTIES

- 1. PW 2024-04 (Montgomery County Republican Central Committee)
- 2. PW 2024-05 (Montgomery County Republican Women)
- 3. PW 2024-06 (Hardin County Democratic Central Committee)
- 4. PW 2024-07 (Wells Fargo and Company Employee PAC)
- 5. PW 2024-08 (Keokuk County Republican Central Committee)
- 6. PW 2024-09 (Wayne County Republican Central Committee)
- 7. PW 2024-10 (Plumbers and Pipefitters UA Local #23 PAC)

VI. LEGISLATIVE PROPOSALS

- 1. Disclosure of Artificial Intelligence in campaign materials
- 2. Miscellaneous updates
 - i. Chair and Vice Chair of different parties
 - ii. Requiring email addresses on filings
 - iii. Changing filing deadline from 4:30 p.m. to 11:59 p.m.
 - iv. Extending prohibition on PAC involvement to all candidates
 - v. Requiring attribution on radio and internet published political materials

VII. LOBBYIST AUTHORIZATION

1. Authorize individuals to serve as the Board's lobbyists for the 2025 session of the Iowa General Assembly

VIII. DIRECTOR PERFORMANCE EVALUATION

1. Pursuant to Iowa Code section 21.5(1)(i) and at his request, the Board may enter into closed session to evaluate the performance of Director Goodrich

IX. DIRECTOR COMPENSATION

1. Discussion and potential action pertaining to Director Goodrich's compensation

X. BOARD DISCUSSION

- 1. Admonishment process
- 2. Enforcement procedures

XI. ADJOURN

MEETING ACCESS

Virtual

Stream the meeting live on our YouTube channel @IAEthicsBoard, or click on the link below www.youtube.com/@IAEthicsBoard/streams The live stream will end if the Board enters into closed session and will be restarted upon the return to open session.

In Person

The Ola Babcock Miller Building is open to the public. Take the elevator to the third floor. Room 300 is directly south of the rotunda. Visitor parking is available in the lot between the Ola Babcock Miller Building and the Jessie Parker Building off of East 12th Street.