ZACH GOODRICH

Executive Director and Legal Counsel



BOARD MEMBERS:

James Albert, Chair Elaine Olson, Vice Chair Jonathan Roos Daniel Jessop Leah Rodenberg

IOWA ETHICS AND CAMPAIGN DISCLOSURE BOARD

An Independent Agency of the Executive Branch

DRAFT Meeting Minutes

October 31, 2024, 2:30 p.m.
Ola Babcock Miller Building, Room 300
1112 East Grand Ave, Des Moines, Iowa 50319

I. CALL TO ORDER

Roll call: Members present are Jonathan Roos, Elaine Olson, James Albert. Virtual – Dan Jessop and Leah Rodenbeg. Staff present are Zach Goodrich, Taylor McDonald and Nancy Wood.

The meeting is called to order at 2:37 pm.

II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Leah Rodenberg moves to approve the May 23, 2024, minutes. Second by Jonathan Roos. All ayes, motion carries.

III. DIRECTOR'S UPDATE

Director Goodrich provided an update on the agency's activities since the last Board meeting on May 23, 2024.

IV. FORMAL COMPLAINTS

Motion by Leah Rodenberg to take FC 2023-04, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 25 and 26 complaints together and dismiss for lack of legal sufficiency. Second by Dan Jessop. All ayes, motion carries.

Motion by Elaine Olson to accept findings and dismiss FC 2023-13 (Diana Danielson/Tim Lane) for lack of probable cause. Second by Jonathan Roos. All ayes, motion carries.

- 1. FC 2023-13 (Diana Danielson / Tim Lane)
- 2. FC 2024-04 (Laura Dunlap / Jennifer Miralles)
- 3. FC 2024-18 (Zach Frantz / Shannon Wilson)
- 4. FC 2024-19 (Rachel Doyle / Jim Pentico)
- 5. FC 2024-20 (Donna Barry / Gorman for Senate)
- 6. FC 2024-22 (Heaven Chamberlain / Educational Opportunities PAC)
- 7. FC 2024-21 (Chad Brewbaker / Kim Reynolds)
- 8. FC 2024-23 (Harry Pettit / Fitch for Supervisor)
- 9. FC 2024-25 (Ben Lynch / Joe Gatto)
- 10. FC 2024-26 (Ann Fields / Gearhart for Iowa)

- FC 2024-05 (Keith Wieland / Rick Wulfekuhle)
 Motion by Dan to accept and investigate. Second by Leah Rodenberg. All ayes, motion carries.
- FC 2024-06 (sua sponte / Committee to Elect Justyn Lewis)
 Motion by Jonathan Roos to accept and investigate. Second by Elaine Olson.
 All ayes, motion carries.
- FC 2024-07 (sua sponte / ToyA Johnson 4 Iowa)
 Motion by Leah Rodenberg to accept and investigate. Second by Jonathan Roos. All ayes, motion carries.
- FC 2024-08 (sua sponte / Tim Roper PAC)
 Motion by Elaine Olson to accept and investigate. Second by Leah Rodenberg. All ayes, motion carries.
- 5. FC 2024-09 (sua sponte / Cindy Dorhout, et al.)
 Motion by Leah Rodenberg to accept and investigate. Second by Dan Jessop.
 All ayes, motion carries.
- 6. FC 2024-10 (sua sponte / Asian and Latino Coalition)
 Motion by Elaine Olson to accept and investigate. Second by Leah Rodenberg.
 All ayes, motion carries.
- 7. FC 2024-11 (sua sponte / Scott Pack)
 Motion by Dan Jessop to accept and investigate. Second by Leah Rodenberg.
 All ayes, motion carries.
- 8. FC 2024-12 (sua sponte / David Swindlehurst for Governor)
 Motion by Leah Rodenberg to accept and investigate. Second by Elaine Olson.
 All ayes, motion carries.
- 9. FC 2024-13 (sua sponte / Iowans for a Renewable Future)
 Motion by Jonathan Roos to accept and investigate. Second by Elaine Olson.
 All ayes, motion carries.
- 10. FC 2024-14 (sua sponte / Ossian Election Team)

 Motion by Leah Rodenberg to accept and investigate. Second by Dan Jessop.

 All ayes, motion carries.
- 11. FC 2024-15 (sua sponte / Sac and Fox Tribe of the Mississippi)
 Motion by Dan Jessop to accept and investigate. Second by Elaine Olson.
 All ayes, motion carries.
- 12. FC 2024-16 (Lisa Riedel / Jim Anderson)
 Motion by Leah Rodenberg to accept and investigate. Second by Jonathan Roos.
 All ayes, motion carries.
- 13. FC 2024-17 (Herbert Riedel / Wendy Knight)
 Motion by Leah Rodenberg to accept and investigate. Second by Dan Jessop.
 All ayes, motion carries.

14. FC 2024-24 (Margaret Klein / Vote YES for Waterloo Schools)

Motion Leah Rodenberg to accept and investigate. Second by Jonathan Roos.

All ayes, motion carries.

V. PETITIONS FOR WAIVER OF CIVIL PENALTIES

Motion by Dan Jessop to accept the recommendation of Executive Director, Zach Goodrich for each waiver request.

- 1. PW 2024-04 (Montgomery County Republican Central Committee) WAIVED
- 2. PW 2024-05 (Montgomery County Republican Women) WAIVED
- 3. PW 2024-06 (Hardin County Democratic Central Committee) WAIVED
- 4. PW 2024-07 (Wells Fargo and Company Employee PAC) ORDERED TO PAY
- 5. PW 2024-08 (Keokuk County Republican Central Committee) WAIVED
- 6. PW 2024-09 (Wayne County Republican Central Committee) **ORDERED TO PAY**
- 7. PW 2024-10 (Plumbers and Pipefitters UA Local #23 PAC) ORDERED TO PAY

VI. LEGISLATIVE PROPOSALS

Motion by Elaine Olson to file the following proposed legislation for 2025 legislative session. Second by Jonathan Roos. All ayes, motion carries.

- 1. Disclosure of Artificial Intelligence in campaign materials
- 2. Miscellaneous updates
 - i. Chair and Vice Chair of different parties
 - ii. Requiring email addresses on filings
 - iii. Changing filing deadline from 4:30 p.m. to 11:59 p.m.
 - iv. Extending prohibition on PAC involvement to all candidates
 - v. Requiring attribution on radio and internet published political materials

VII. LOBBYIST AUTHORIZATION

Motion by Dan Jessop for Zach Goodrich, Taylor McDonald, James Albert, Elaine Olson, Jonathan Roos, Leah Rodenberg, and Dan Jessop to serve as the Boards lobbyists for the 2025 session for the Iowa General Assembly. Second by Leah Rodenberg. All ayes, motion carries.

1. Authorize individuals to serve as the Board's lobbyists for the 2025 session of the Iowa General Assembly

VIII. DIRECTOR PERFORMANCE EVALUATION

Motion by Leah Rodenberg to move into closed session pursuant to Iowa Code section 21.5(1)(i) and at his request, the Board may enter into closed session to evaluate the performance of Director Goodrich. Second by Dan Jessop. Roll call: Elaine Olson, Jonathan Roos, Leah Rodenberg, Dan Jessop and James Albert. All ayes, motion carries.

Motion by Elaine Olson to move back into open session by Elaine Olson and second by Jonthan Roos. Roll call: Elaine Olson, Jonathan Roos, Leah Rodenberg, Dan Jessop and James Albert. All ayes, motion carries.

IX. DIRECTOR COMPENSATION

Motion by Leah Rodenberg to increase Executive Director and Legal Counsel, Zach Goodrich's salary to \$104,187.20 retroactively to July 1, 2024. Second by Dan Jessop. All ayes, motion carries

X. BOARD DISCUSSION

Due to time constraints these agenda items were tabled for the next meeting.

- 1. Admonishment process
- 2. Enforcement procedures

XI. ADJOURN

Motion by Elaine Olson to adjourn at 5:37 pm. Second by Leah Rodenberg.