ZACHARY S. GOODRICH

Executive Director and Legal Counsel



BOARD MEMBERS:

James Albert, Chair Elaine Olson, Vice Chair Jonathan Roos Daniel Jessop Leah Rodenberg

IOWA ETHICS AND CAMPAIGN DISCLOSURE BOARD

An Independent Agency of the Executive Branch

Meeting Minutes

March 27, 2025, 1:00 p.m. Ola Babcock Miller Building, Room 300 1112 East Grand Ave, Des Moines, Iowa 50319

I. CALL TO ORDER

Roll Call: Members present are Jonathan Roos, James Albert. Virtual – Dan Jessop, Elaine Olson, Leah Rodenberg. Staff present are Zach Goodrich, Taylor McDonald and Nancy Wood.

The meeting is called to order at 1:00 pm.

II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Leah Rodenberg moves to approve the October 31, 2024. Second by Dan Jessop. All ayes, motion carries.

III. DIRECTOR'S UPDATE

Director Goodrich provided an overview of agency operations since the 10/31/24 meeting.

Taylor McDonald provided an update on the agency's legislative work for the 2025 session.

Nancy Wood provided an update to enhancements currently getting completed with QCI on Gift Bequests and Personal Financial Disclosure filings. These enhancements will provide more reporting opportunities and improvements for the filer.

IV. ADVISORY OPINIONS

Motion by Jonathan Roos to adopt AO 2025-01 (LLC Reporting Requirements). Second by Dan Jessop. No discussion. All ayes. Motion carries.

V. FORMAL COMPLAINTS

Recommended to Dispose

Motion to approve the Executive Director's recommendation to impose a \$400 Reprimand for FC 2024-06 (sua sponte / Committee to Elect Justyn Lewis). Second by Leah Rodenberg. All ayes. Motion carries.

Motion by Leah Rodenberg to approve the Executive Director's recommendation to impose a \$2,000 reprimand for FC 2024-07 (sua sponte / ToyA Johnson 4 Iowa). Second by Elaine Olson. All ayes. Motion carries.

Motion to approve Executive Director's recommendation to impose a \$1,200 reprimand for FC 2024-12 (sua sponte / David Swindlehurst for Governor). Second by Dan Jessop. All ayes. Motion carries.

Motion to approve Executive Director's recommendation to impose a \$50 reprimand for FC 2024-14 (sua sponte / Ossian Election Team). Second by Jonathan Roos. All ayes. Motion carries.

Motion to approve Executive Director's recommendation to impose a \$400 reprimand for FC 2024-17 (Herbert Riedel / Wendy Knight). Scond by Dan Jessop. All ayes. Motion carries.

Motion to approve Executive Director's recommendation to dismiss FC 2024-27 (Breanna Mink / Margaret Armstrong) for lack of legal sufficiency. Second By Elaine Olson. All ayes. Motion carries.

Motion to approve Executive Director's recommendation to dismiss FC 2024-28 (Chad Brewbaker / Ron Forsell) for lack of legal sufficiency. Second by Elaine Olson. All ayes. Motion carries.

Motion to approve Special Counsel's recommendation to dismiss FC 2025-01 (Chad Brewbaker / Brenna Bird, et al.) for lack of legal sufficiency. Second by Jonathan Roos. All ayes. Motion carries.

Request for Subpoenas

Motion by Dan Jessop to approve the issuance of subpoenas for both FC 2024-08 (sua sponte / Tim Roper PAC) and FC 2024-10 (sua sponte / Asian and Latino Coalition). Second by Leah Rodenberg. All ayes. Motion carries.

In Progress (no action)

- 1. FC 2024-05 (Keith Wieland / Rick Wulfekuhle)
- 2. FC 2024-11 (sua sponte / Scott Pack)
- 1. FC 2024-13 (sua sponte / Iowans for a Renewable Future)
- 2. FC 2024-15 (sua sponte / Sac and Fox Tribe of the Mississippi)
- 3. FC 2024-16 (Lisa Reidel / Jim Anderson)
- 4. FC 2024-24 (Margaret Klein / Vote YES for Waterloo Schools)

No action needed.

VI. PETITIONS FOR WAIVER OF CIVIL PENALTIES

Motion by Elaine Olson to approve the Executive Directors recommendation to enforce a \$300 penalty for PW 2024-11 (Siouxland Energy & Livestock Cooperative PAC). Second by Jonathan Roos. All ayes. Motion carries.

ZACHARY S. GOODRICH

Executive Director and Legal Counsel



BOARD MEMBERS:

James Albert, Chair Elaine Olson, Vice Chair Jonathan Roos Daniel Jessop Leah Rodenberg

IOWA ETHICS AND CAMPAIGN DISCLOSURE BOARD

An Independent Agency of the Executive Branch

Motion by Jonathan Roos to approve the Executive Directors recommendation to enforce a \$800 penalty for PW 2024-12 (Heiden for Crawford County). Second by Leah Rodenberg. All ayes. Motion carries.

Motion by Elaine Olson to approve the Executive Directors recommendation to waive a \$50 penalty for PW 2024-13 (Friends of Jon Dunwell). Second by Dan Jessop. All ayes. Motion carries.

Motion by Dan Jessop to approve the Executive Directors recommendation to enforce a \$50 penalty PW 2025-01 (Citizens for Christoffersen). Second by Leah Rodenberg. All ayes. Motion carries.

Motion by Elaine Olson to approve the Executive Directors recommendation to enforce a \$600 penalty PW 2025-02 (Elect Donald Mosinski for Audubon County Supervisor). Second by Leah Rodenberg. All ayes. Motion carries.

Motion by Dan Jessop to approve the Executive Directors recommendation to enforce a \$200 penalty PW 2025-03 (ramkerforiowans). Second by Jonathan Roos. All ayes. Motion carries.

Motion by Leah Rodenberg to approve the Executive Directors recommendation to enforce a \$800 penalty PW 2025-04 (clayton for Iowa House). Second by Jonathan Roos. All ayes. Motion carries.

VII. ADMINISTRATIVE RULES REVIEW

Motion by Jonathan Roos that the work done so far for updates to Iowa Administrative Code chapter 351 is approved and to keep the process going. Second by Leah Rodenberg. All ayes. Motion carries.

VIII. COMMITTEE BALANCE ADJUSTMENTS

Motion by Leah Rodenberg to approve the adjustment to the ending balance for AD 2025-01 (LisaFleishman4Iowa). Second by Elaine Olson. All ayes. Motion carries.

IX. ADJOURN

Motion by Leah Rodenberg to adjourn. Second by Elaine Olson. Meeting adjourned at 3:30 pm.

Respectfully submitted by,

Nancy Wood

Nancy Wood, Executive Secretary Approved 4.24.25