#### **ZACHARY S. GOODRICH**

Executive Director and Legal Counsel



#### **BOARD MEMBERS:**

James Albert, Chair Elaine Olson, Vice Chair Jonathan Roos Mary Rueter Daniel Jessop Leah Rodenberg

# IOWA ETHICS AND CAMPAIGN DISCLOSURE BOARD

An Independent Agency of the Executive Branch

## **MEETING MINUTES**

April 6, 2023, 1:00 p.m. Ola Babcock Miller Building, Room 300 1112 East Grand Ave, Des Moines, Iowa 50319

## I. CALL TO ORDER

Roll call: Present are James Albert, Jonathan Roos, Dan Jessop, and Zach Goodrich. Joining remotely are Elaine Olson and Leah Rodenberg.

Meeting called to order at 1:00 p.m.

#### II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. November 17, 2022, minutes

Leah Rodenberg moves to approve minutes. Seconded by Jonathan Roos. Motion passes 5-0.

#### III. DIRECTOR'S UPDATE

Zach Goodrich provided an update to the Board on agency operations.

# IV. COMPLAINTS

1. FC 2022-14 (Eddie Andrews)

Motion by Dan Jessop to approve order vacating civil penalty and upholding reprimand. Seconded by Leah Rodenberg. Motion passes 5-0.

2. FC 2022-20 (Lori Ginapp)

Motion by Dan Jessop to approve order reprimanding and assessing civil penalty of \$200. Seconded by Elaine Olson. Motion passes 5-0.

3. FC 2022-23 (Eddie Andrews)

Motion by Elaine Olson to approve order reprimanding and assessing civil penalty of \$250. Seconded by Jonathan Roos. Motion passes 5-0.

4. FC 2023-02 (City of Doon)

Motion by Dan Jessop to approve order accepting complaint and authorizing investigation. Seconded by Jonathan Roos. Motion passes 5-0.

#### V. PETITIONS FOR WAIVER OF CIVIL PENALTIES

- 1. PW 2022-27 (Tri State Trail Vision)
- 2. PW 2022-28 (Johnson for Iowa)
- 3. PW 2022-29 (De Witt for Iowa Senate)
- 4. PW 2022-30 (Kadel 4 Iowa)
- 5. PW 2022-31 (Kadel 4 Iowa)
- 6. PW 2022-32 (K. Lynn Evans Campaign Committee)
- 7. PW 2022-33 (Citizens for Sieck)
- 8. PW 2022-34 (Jessica Wiskus for Iowa)
- 9. PW 2023-01 (Bridget Carberry Montgomery for Iowa)
- 10. PW 2023-02 (Mack4Supervisor)
- 11. PW 2023-03 (Forward with Freiburger)
- 12. PW 2023-04 (teamamlewis)
- 13. PW 2023-05 (Pottawattamie County Republican Central Committee)
- 14. PW 2023-06 (John Clayton)
- 15. PW 2023-07 (John Clayton)
- 16. PW 2023-08 (Harley Pothoff for Supervisor)
- 17. PW 2023-09 (Windstream Holdings II, LLC PAC)
- 18. PW 2023-10 (Kuhn for Supervisor)
- 19. PW 2023-11 (Humboldt County Republican Central Committee)
- 20. PW 2023-12 (RDH PAC)
- 21. PW 2023-13 (Starr for West Des Moines Schools)

Motion by Leah Rodenberg to approve all orders except PW 2022-34 as a consent agenda. Seconded by Elaine Olson. Motion passes 5-0.

Motion by Elaine Olson to grant waiver for PW 2022-34. Seconded by Leah Rodenberg. Motion passes 5-0.

# VI. ADJUSTMENTS

1. Discussion of Board policy for adjustments

The Board's campaign auditors are authorized to make adjustments up to \$50. The Board's director is authorized to approve adjustments up to \$100. Adjustments over \$100 will require Board approval.

- 2. AD 2023-01 (Cathy Glasson for Governor)
- 3. AD 2023-02 (Linn County Republican Central Committee)

Motion by Dan Jessop to approve both adjustments as a consent agenda. Seconded by Elaine Olson. Motion passes 5-0.

### VII. CLOSED SESSION(S)

- 1. Pursuant to Iowa Code section 21.5(1)(g), the Board may hold a closed session to avoid disclosure of specific law enforcement matters, such as current or proposed investigations, which if disclosed would enable law violators to avoid detection.
- 2. Pursuant to Iowa Code section 21.5(1)(c), the Board may hold a closed session to discuss strategy with counsel in matters that are presently in litigation or where litigation is imminent where its disclosure would be likely to prejudice or disadvantage the position of the government body in that litigation.

Motion by Jonathan Roos to enter closed session pursuant to Iowa Code sections 21.5(1)(g) and (c). Seconded by Dan Jessop. Motion passes 5-0.

Return to open session.

Motion by Dan Jessop to accept complaint and authorize investigation for FC 2023-01. Seconded by Jonathan Roos. Motion passes 5-0.

Motion by Jonathan Roos to (1) deny request for an administrative law judge for appeal of Board's order in PW 2022-23, and (2) grant waiver for PW 2022-23. Seconded by Dan Jessop. Motion passes 5-0.

### VIII. ADJOURN

Motion by Dan Jessop to adjourn. Seconded by Jonathan Roos. Motion passes 5-0. Meeting adjourns at 3:08 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Nancy Wood

Nancy Wood, Executive Secretary Approved 9/28/23